Go To Top

29 September 2011

Podcast Preview: Alan Gilbert and John Corigliano

In the latest On The Music Podcast, Music Director Alan Gilbert discusses One Sweet Morning, a newly commissioned work by John Corigliano — a composer who he describes as “one of the important storytellers in American music.” Mr. Corigliano also talks about his new work, which will receive its World Premiere by the New York Philharmonic on September 30 and October 1 and 4 at Avery Fisher Hall. Listen to the entire award-winning podcast series here.

2 May 2011

Voices from the Past

The latest edition of the Philharmonic’s On the Music Podcast features a 1966 recording of Laureate Conductor Leonard Bernstein discussing Beethoven’s Eroica Symphony, which is featured on this week’s concerts with Music Director Alan Gilbert and violinist Lisa Batiashvili.

Listen to more of the Philharmonic’s award-winning podcast series here, and stay tuned for more Podcast previews.

22 March 2011

Have you ever wondered: “When the music is so hypnotic and beautiful, does the conductor ever get lost”?

This edition of On the Music features podcast host Elliott Forrest talking about György Ligeti’s Clocks and Clouds, as well as Hungarian Echoes conductor Esa-Pekka Salonen discussing the occupational hazard of music that is so “dreamlike.”

Hear this work and others by Bartók and Haydn on March 24–26, during Hungarian Echoes: A Philharmonic Festival, and listen to more of the Philharmonic’s award-winning podcast series here.

16 March 2011

Podcast Preview:

This edition of On the Music features Hungarian Echoes conductor Esa-Pekka Salonen talking about his relationship with György Ligeti, as well as New York Philharmonic Artistic Administrator John Mangum discussing Ligeti’s Concert Românesc, or “Romanian Concerto,” a work that is rooted in the folk traditions of Eastern and Central Europe. As Mr. Mangum states, “It’s a Ligeti that has great connections to Bartók and his predecessors.” Hear this work and others on March 17, and March 18–19 and 22, during Hungarian Echoes: A Philharmonic Festival, which runs through March 26

Listen to more of the Philharmonic’s award-winning podcast series here.

3 March 2011

On this edition of On the Music, Music Director Alan Gilbert discusses guest conductor Esa-Pekka Salonen’s “brilliant addition” of Ligeti to the juxtaposition of music by Haydn and Bartók — a pair he has often enjoyed — for the upcoming Hungarian Echoes: A Philharmonic Festival, March 10–26

Listen to more of the Philharmonic’s award-winning podcast series here.

16 February 2011

Le Bourgeois gentilhomme

On this edition of On the Music, Podcast host Elliott Forrest and Philharmonic Artistic Administrator John Mangum discuss the comical adventures portrayed in R. Strauss’s Le Bourgeois gentilhomme, a suite of tongue-in-cheek incidental music based on Molière’s 17th-century theatrical masterpiece. Come hear this and a variety of works conducted by Andrey Boreyko on a program that also features guest soloist Branford Marsalis on alto saxophone, February 16–19.

Listen to more of the Philharmonic’s award-winning podcast series here.

8 February 2011

Podcast Preview:

This week’s On the Music Podcast series features composer Dmitri Shostakovich, who can be heard in an interview from a 1973 symposium at Northwestern University. Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 5 will be performed by the New York Philharmonic, led by Andris Nelsons, who will be making his New York Philharmonic conducting debut. Also on the February 10–12 program: Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No 3 with Jonathan Biss. 

Impress your friends: the New York Philharmonic’s first performance of Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 5 was at Lewisohn Stadium on June 15, 1941, under the baton of then-music director Dimitri Mitropoulos.

Listen to more of the Philharmonic’s award-winning podcast series here.

20 January 2011

In this edition of the Philharmonic’s On the Music Podcast, guest conductor Christoph von Dohnányi discusses the likely pairing of Dvořák’s Symphony No. 8 with Brahms’s Piano Concerto No. 1 for this week’s concerts with pianist Radu Lupu. Listen to the entire award-winning Podcast series at nyphil.org. And if you’re in New York, please try to hear this great program for yourself on January 21–22 at Avery Fisher Hall.

10 January 2011

Beethovenesque

On the Music Podcast, host Mark Travis offers insight on composer and clarinetist Jörg Widmann’s Con brio, Concert Overture for Orchestra, which will open this week’s Philharmonic concerts conducted by Christoph von Dohnányi. The composition — or “interaction with 19th century music,” as described by Mr. Widmann — was written with a “knowing wink” to Beethoven’s Seventh and Eighth symphonies.

The January 13–15 concerts will also feature Schumann’s Symphony No. 4, and Brahms’s Piano Concerto No. 2 with Yefim Bronfman as soloist.

Stay tuned for more Tumblr-exclusive Podcast Previews, or hear the entire award-winning series on our Website.

Following

  • Pop Culture Brain | Movies TV Music Web Theater
  • The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon
  • The New Yorker
  • Moleskine Lovers
  • The Washington Post
  • Tumblr Open Arts
  • Tip Toe Through Our Shiny Cities
  • WIL WHEATON dot TUMBLR
  • World Domination is currently out of the question.
  • U.S. Department of State
  • The Huffington Post
  • Under the Radar Magazine
  • Mother Nature Network
  • I hate yoga.
  • I got Rhythm.
  • American Public Media
  • Vintage Books & Anchor Books
  • C.P.
  • Mahlerian
  • Dark City
  • ShortFormBlog
  • liederderp
  • Blogthoven
  • Scientific Illustration
  • Funny Or Die
  • Whimsicality's musicality
  • Home Video of Oprah Sobbing into a Lean Cuisine
  • Whitewater Dreamer
  • neuroimagining
  • OBI Scrapbook Blog
  • ComicsAlliance
  • Deus ex musica
  • The Bored Vegetarian
  • Let the music play...
  • be good Peaches
  • WNYC's Transmitter
  • The Vimeo Blog
  • Are you talking to Meme?
  • The Remix to Ignition.
  • Pulitzer Center on Crisis Reporting
  • Quoted on People.com
  • Vintage Visuals
  • Condé Nast Traveler
  • Lal-la-la...la....la
  • tomorrow belongs to those who can hear it coming
  • A Prairie Home Companion
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
  • Founding Fatherfest
  • An Escalator to Instagraham-Crackers
  • I CARE IF YOU LISTEN
  • what's past is prologue
  • Guernica / A Magazine of Art & Politics
  • RunJuliet
  • simplify your life
  • Obit of the Day
  • harmonia mundi usa
  • JOE'S PUB at THE PUBLIC
  • NBC News on Tumblr
  • the illusion of effortlessness
  • On Being Tumblr
  • Free USA Press
  • Breaking News
  • #WHAT SHOULD WE CALL CLARINET
  • KQEDScience
  • Photojojo ♥'s Tumblr
  • you can't break that which isn't yours
  • I'm Remembering!
  • the world to come
  • Fast Company
  • San Diego Zoo
  • W Magazine
  • naming blogs is easy
  • Life is an orchestra.
  • submissive heart
  • The Paris Review
  • Inside InStyle
  • Animals with Stuffed Animals
  • PBS on Tumblr
  • NPR
  • =^_^=
  • nach und nach wieder auflebend
  • *Taps Mic*
  • NYC-ARTS
  • The Week
  • Public Radio International
  • partition
  • Old New York
  • Tumblr Staff
  • CMJ
  • I Love Charts
  • I HEAR, THEREFORE I AM.
  • ideas for cities
  • Laughing Squid
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium
  • Young Manhattanite
  • TMZ tumblr
  • UC San Diego Health Sciences News
  • BRITTICISMS
  • Newsweek
  • Scribner Books
  • BlackBook
  • Homilius
  • United Nations
  • The Atlantic
  • POZ
  • Know Your Meme
  • FLARE on Tumblr | Canada's Fashion Magazine
  • SoundCloud
  • Reuters
  • BuzzFeed
  • Explore
  • New Museum
  • SundanceTV
  • Things Organized Neatly
  • SCATTERED AS MY MOTHERS PEARLS
  • mtv
  • The Onion
  • Team Coco on Tumblr
  • flavorpill
  • boston.tumblr.com
  • Trashy TV
  • NPR Radio Pictures
  • G to the Rizzoooh!
  • Rubin Museum of Art
  • Powell's Books
  • NPR Fresh Air
  • Time
  • ON THE RED CARPET
  • TheNoguchiMuseum
  • The Electric Typewriter
  • Eyes on Sims
  • Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • New Music USA
  • Rolling Stone
  • The Nation Magazine
  • NASDAQ on Tumblr
  • LIVE from the NYPL
  • NPR Music
  • The Fluffington Post
  • Los Angeles Times
  • The Smithian
  • Mediaite
  • Suck It
  • Vintascope
  • Historical Nonfiction
  • Yahoo News
  • POETS.org
  • The Sky Might Fall
  • I'm With Kanye
  • The Editors' Desk
  • Today's Document
  • gabriel kahane
  • Humans of New York
  • SculptureCenter
  • USA.gov
  • Total Film
  • MSNBC - Lean Forward
  • Freunde von Freunden
  • Hello. I'm Soraya & this... is my blog.
  • Splitsider
  • Asia Society
  • American Museum of Natural History
  • The Columbus Dispatch
  • kateoplis
  • WIRED
  • The Hartford Courant
  • NYC GOV
  • FUCK YEAH HISTORY CRUSHES
  • Popular Mechanics
  • AWL MUSIC
  • ARTLOG
  • The Denver Post
  • All things Europe
  • Soup
  • Contemporary Art Daily
  • Entertainment Weekly
  • Harper's Bazaar
  • passacaglia
  • Brazen Overtures
  • the leading tone
  • Best Roof Talk Ever
  • Us Weekly on Tumblr
  • The New York Botanical Garden
  • Look at this Little Thing!
  • I Love Old Magazines
  • je suis a toi
  • Minimal
  • Good Morning America
  • Congress in the Archives
  • GLOBALPOST
  • VIBE Magazine
  • Call Me Suds
  • Pace Gallery Blog
  • Queens Library
  • The Christian Science Monitor
  • orchestra21
  • PWC
  • The FADER Tumblr
  • The Believer Logger
  • Brew York
  • Cabin Porn™
  • McNally Jackson Bookmongers
  • NBC Nightly News with Brian Williams
  • our favorite findings!
  • Sad Stuff on the Street
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art | Our Story
  • Drawing ARCHITECTURE
  • NYPL Wire–The New York Public Library
  • World News
  • Lincoln Center
  • The Feature
  • Science & Fiction
  • Brooklyn Museum
  • Foreign Affairs
  • The Guardian
  • The final sentence.
  • Our Presidents
  • Housing Works Bookstore Cafe
  • Coffee and Catharsis
  • On the Media
  • Brooklyn Theory
  • CNBC - First In Business Worldwide
  • Glamour Tumblr
  • Sarahndipity
  • Officials Say the Darndest Things
  • nyc art scene
  • Vanity Fair
  • Politico
  • This Week in Creepy Robots
  • US National Archives Exhibits
  • Smithsonian
  • THE WJS JOURNAL.
  • BLOGGING via TYPEWRITER.
  • UKinUSA on Tumblr
  • Lights Up
  • America's Test Kitchen
  • Here, take this....
  • Smithsonian Magazine
  • The Daily Bungalow
  • Samuel Rubenfeld's Tumblr
  • The New Aesthetic
  • A Cuppa Day
  • The Daily Bunny
  • The Daily Otter
  • Is that blogging?
  • fotojournalismus
  • Zack P Schneider
  • Medium Aevum
  • Journal of a Journalist
  • I May Explode
  • Good for the heart; bad for the soul
  • Designcloud
  • "Flute Music Is Love Music From The Heart"
  • music n shit
  • vita
  • ShakespeareStagehands
  • classical music humor
  • dysfunctional harmony
  • V-Neck and a Cardigan
  • the impossible cool.
  • Dan Hodapp
  • A Little Space to Fill
  • Piano Around the World
  • Against Whom, Rose?
  • My life with Classical Music.
  • WAGES OF FEAR
  • she dreams in color, she dreams in red
  • The New Republic
  • garfield minus garfield
  • SFMOMA
  • Detroit Symphony Orchestra
  • PBS Arts
  • ELLE
  • Sesame Street
  • Heilewelt - a blog for music lovers
  • SciSpotlight: NYSCI News Digest
  • MinnPost on Tumblr
  • PublicAffairs
  • Open Books
  • I'm the girl with the little red car
  • An urban planner named Andrea